Lovely monday

...något som jag aldrig trodde att jag skulle säga. Ever! Men just idag är jag ledig, det är soligt, jag ska kolla på serier, läsa, dricka te och göra mina Spotifylistor. Ikväll ska jämställdheten diskuteras, men fram tills dess har jag ett och annat att roa mig med, till exempel läsa intervjun med lovely Miranda July. Det var ju ett par år sedan jag såg Me And You And Everyone We Know och föll direkt för den söta, konstnärliga, coola Miranda. På Sacre Coeur (restaurangen vid Nytorget) hängde en snygg, svartvit tavla föreställande Miranda July på ett hustak. Kärlek vid första ögonkastet och om jag inte minns helt fel så känner min vän E fotografen...måste kolla upp det lite närmare!


DD: What made you move from college in California to Portland?
Miranda July: In those early days in (1993/94) I didn’t really study anything. I didn’t declare a major, I didn’t study art. My best friend in high school had moved to Portland and it was incredibly alluring, it was riot grrrl and a lot to do with music, which was funny because I didn’t really play but I made use of all the energy there. It was great for collaborations even if I couldn’t sing.

DD: Are you ever afraid that your work is too intimate?
Miranda July: I am concerned about that but there’s nothing I can really do. I try to push myself towards symbolism, partly for that reason but also that it is liberating. I often write a little reminder that says ‘move in symbols’ so I don’t get too autobiographical. Nonetheless, everything that I can think of that will be coming out in the next couple of years, I feel like I’m throwing myself to the lions. I really could just cry about it, that’s how upsetting it is to me, but I don’t know what to do. Oh well. Everything has its problems.

Hela intervjun finns här

Veckans tips: se Me And You And Everyone We Know och läs Miranda Julys novellsamling Ingen hör hemma här mer än du.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0